

PARTIES AGREE SELECTION OF TGONU MINISTERIAL PORTFOLIOS

For Immediate Release

7 January 2016

JUBA: The Chairperson of the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC), Mr. Festus G. Mogae, Former President of the Republic of Botswana, facilitated today the consensus selection of ministerial and deputy ministerial portfolios for the Transitional Government of National Unity (TGoNU) by the Parties to the Agreement to Resolve the Conflict in South Sudan (ARCSS).

Following the selection process, the Government of the Republic of South Sudan will nominate ministers for 16 ministries: Finance and Planning; Defence and Veterans' Affairs; Justice and Constitutional Affairs; Information, Communication Technology and Postal Services; Minister in the Office of the President; Trade and Industry; Wildlife, Conservation and Tourism; Roads and Bridges; Parliamentary Affairs; National Security; Health; Culture, Youth and Sports; Gender, Child and Social Welfare; General Education and Instruction; Livestock and Fisheries; Environment and Forestry.

The SPLM/A (In Opposition) will nominate ministers for 10 ministries: Petroleum; Interior; Water Resources and Irrigation; Labour, Public Service and Human Resources Development; Federal Affairs; Higher Education, Science and Technology; Energy and Dams; Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management; Land, Housing and Urban Development; Mining.

The SPLM (Former Detainees) will nominate ministers for 2 ministries: Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation; Transport.

The Political Parties will nominate ministers for 2 ministries: Cabinet Affairs; Agriculture and Food Security.

The Chairperson of JMEC thanked the Parties for their cooperation, and looks forward to their continued action to complete the tasks necessary for the establishment of the TGoNU.

For further information, please contact:

Abdeta D. Beyene or Aly Verjee, JMEC Secretariat, info@jmecsouthsudan.org